Collaborate for Students

You are recommended to use the Blackboard website for Collaborate.

Introduction to the Collaborate Menu and First Look

  • To access the Blackboard Collaborate page of your course to be taught online, you must be logged into Blackboard. After logging in to Blackboard, go to the page where the courses are listed, which is located in the horizontal menu, the top right of the page, then click on the "Courses" button, and select your course.
  • Click on 'Virtual Classroom (Collaborate)' in the menu that opens after you login to the course. You will be met by the Blackboard Collaborate login page.
For the best Blackboard Collaborate experience, please use the latest version of Google Chrome.

First Entry to the Session

  • To access the online session created by the instructor of the course, click on the appropriate time period from the sessions under the Course Room.
  • First, click on the "Session” button, then click "Join Session" button and you will be directed to Blackboard Collaborate's platform.
Some requests will be required when you first enter the platform. These are Microphone and Camera permissions. Please click "Allow" on Microphone and Camera permissions, which will appear on your screen after the page is opened. This is essential to get the most out of our Collaborate experience. After you grant microphone and camera permissions, both features will be off until you turn them on.
  • Once you have granted the required Permissions, Blackboard will send you a request for a tutorial. You can respond to this request by saying 'Later'.
  • After all these processes, you will reach the main view of Blackboard Collaborate.

Who's Available in the Class and Your Connection Quality

  • While on the Blackboard Collaborate platform, click the pink icon at the bottom right and click the “Attendees” button, which is the second of the buttons at the bottom, in the menu to open.
  • When you press the button, you will access a list of people present in the lesson. In this list, the lecturers, research assistants and the people authorized in the course will appear as 'Moderators' while the students will appear as 'Participant'.
  • Blackboard Collaborate is a system that is constantly affected by your connection quality. To check your connection quality, enter the attendees list, then you will see an icon with a certain number of lines in the box to the right of the person’s name. When this icon contains 4 bars, it indicates that your connection quality is the best, when it contains 1 bar and it is red, there is a problem with the connection quality.
If there is a problem with your connection quality, please take the necessary precautions.

Sharing Documents

  • It is possible for a participant who is in the role of a student to share content with others if the moderator gives them an authorization. Presenter students have access to the “Share Content” menu.
  • For the types of documents that can be added and further explanation, please check the video below.

Student's Hand Raising and Giving Instant Feedback

  • When a student raises a hand, a notification appears on your screen as shown in the figure:This may have several meanings: wanting to speak about the subject, answering questions, collectively answering a question of the instructor, etc. .
  • You can also indicate your ideas by clicking on the human figure located at the bottom left of the main panel to show your thoughts on the subject.

Answering Polls

  • Instructors can ask questions to students through Collaborate during the online course.
Moderators can see which students answered the question, and their answers from the system. Therefore, they may notice people who are actively listening.

Access to Registered Courses

  • If the moderator took the session recorded, you can access the course by clicking the icon at the top left of the login menu and then entering Recordings.

Entire Video


How Did We Do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)